The Killing of a Sacred Deer – quick thoughts

I’ve heard this described as a dark comedy but for those expecting The Lobster-esque laughs stop right there. There’s nothing remotely comedic about this film. It is dark and disturbing and makes you think; there’s themes of justice, morality, love…all of which are presented in a curiously uncomfortable way. The performances are excellent; Barry Keoghan (Dunkirk) is the standout as the mysterious Martin whose relationship with Colin Farrell’s Steven lies at the core of the film. There are one or two points where the pace dragged for me slightly but I never lost interest in Lanthimos’ compelling characters and deadpan dialogue. The production and sound design are also worth noting for their crucial contribution to this twisted tale – really great craft on show. As much as I’d like to see this garner another Original Screenplay nod for Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou, I reckon it’s too much for the academy to handle. Watch out for Keoghan though – with this performance and Dunkirk, he’s had a breakout year and I’m expecting big things from him in the future.


One thought on “The Killing of a Sacred Deer – quick thoughts

Leave a comment